As soloist for orchestra – Double concerto for tenor saxophone, violin & orchestra (comp. Pietilä)

Composer Esa Pietilä

City : Jyväskylä, Finland
Venue : Jyväskylä Encore Hall
Address : Lutakonaukio 12 40100, Jyväskylä, Finland
Time : 19:00



Due to Pekka Kuusisto´s hand injury…

Esa Pietilä and Pekka Kuusisto as soloists for New Double concerto by Pietilä

The concerto Kairos Ludus is originally composed and dedicated to violinist Pekka Kuusisto by the composer Esa Pietilä as a co-soloist himself. The performance takes place with conductor Maria Itkonen and Jyväskylä Sinfonia, an orchestra located in the middle part of Finland.

The concerto is colourful and virtuosic piece that travels through the diverse  expression palette of the modern tenor saxophone and violin with many extended techniques also presented. The concerto consists of five parts that shape the multidirectional sceneries of the piece very differently. The work has been composed as a sister piece for György Ligeti´s Violin concerto by Pietilä, as violinist Pekka Kuusisto suggested Pietilä when they initially discussed about the piece.