“Esa Pietilä is a leading Finish saxophonist whose career took off in the second half of the nineties when he formed a trio with bassist Ulf Krokfors and drummer Markku Ounaskari.

Last year he formed a new quartet., Liberty Ship, with Aki Rissanen (p), Antti Lotjonen (b), Olavi Louhivuori (dr) and just released the first album (Approaching, Eclipse Music (2013)), of this new group programmatically named Liberty Ship. Seeing him live for the first time he seemed almost a reincarnation of the young Gary Thomas. But that is a first moment association. Pietilä is a very powerful but also gentle saxophonist who can reach far out but first of all let all the capabilities of his fellow musicians unfold in this band. Great, incentive playing”!

Leave us a comment

Comments are closed.