Esa Pietilä Trio – Travel of Fulica atra


Esa Pietilä Trio – Travel of Fulica atra

Pietilä has created an uncompromising set of mainly collectively improvised material.  He places great attention to creating musical sceneries that are essentially Scandinavian – and – Finnish by nature. Over the six years that Pietilä, Krokfors and Ounaskari have worked together as a trio, their interaction has developed into something seamless. The trio´s enjoyment of playing jazz oozes through and this album may well be their finest effort so far.

-Finnish Music Quarterly



Esa Pietilä Trio – Travel of Fulica atra

Esa Pietilä, Tenor Saxophone – Uffe Krokfors, Contrabass – Markku Ounaskari, drums

The openness for free improvisation of Esa Pietilä (ts), Ulf Krokfors (b) & Markku Ounaskari (dr), and the elaboration upon the conventional roles of their instruments, highlights a larger goal: creating a unified group identity with a visceral gut-punch with both urgency and subtlety – new and fresh improvisational fields of scandinavian freejazz / avantgarde

“After hearing the funny sounds made by this unusual bird which is called “fulica atra” in Latin, “nokikana” in Finnish and “coot” in English at a Finnish lake on a summer night some time ago, a purely fictional story started to grow… For any artist, a moment of inspiration is a beginning of a journey and a catalyst for freedom of expression – This odyssey contains the interesting shapes of melodies, textures, expression and sceneries that we created on those days of February 2007 – a story that wanted to be told – musical journey that happened in our minds.”

– “Like our previous album “Direct”, this recording has a lot of collectively improvised material too – there was no need to think too much or worry about the music and the story. They just started to grow. If one holds back too much when improvising, refusing to “let go”, the result is usually not as good as it could be.”

– “Working and performing with Uffe and Markku in the past years has been a real trip into musical fulfilment – an experience that has led us to a level of instinctive communication and effortless expression – establishing a wordless connection – to let the music fly like a bird.”


Esa Pietilä Trio — Travel of Fulica atra
Release date : Jan. 01, 2007
Label : Fiasko Records


  1. Travel of Fulica Atra (7:59)
  2. Summer (5:25)
  3. Free the Bird (3:46)
  4. Forget Gravity (10:15)
  5. Radar (In the Night) (4:37)
  6. New Morning (5:28)
  7. The Pond (3:25)
  8. Frozen Cascades (5:54)
  9. Extreme Waves (4:31)
  10. Tonal-A (4:23)
  11. Lacus Securus (4:21)
Share : facebooktwitter

Leave us a comment

Comments are closed.