”Esa Pietilä´s concerto Graffiti Play for tenor saxophone, contemporary jazz trio & orchestra which we premiered together, sounds like if Frank Zappa and György Ligeti had married themselves and had gotten a child together” Esa-Pekka Salonen

“Great musician, highly recommended”
– Risto Nieminen – Director, Music Service Gulbenkian Foundation

Saxophonist and composer Esa Pietilä

Esa Pietilä Yrjö Award

Esa Pietilä Yrjö Award The Yrjö Jazz award 2016 was given to saxophonist Esa Pietilä (b. 1964) for his original, genre-defying work in the field of avant-garde jazz. “Pietilä is known as a... Read more

Read more news

Excerpts from Pietilä´s tenor saxophone concerto Graffiti Play

Samples from Pietilä´s concerto Graffiti Play for chamber orch. & contemporary jazz trio. The first performance of the concerto in oct. 2014 with Esa-Pekka Salonen & Avanti! Chamber orchestra

See list of composed works by Esa Pietilä